top of page

APR: I Tried Positivity. It Was Not For Me

Ladies and gentlemen, I like to think I'm a pretty good person. I'm polite, I try to help people when I can, I believe everyone is equal. But I'm not a positive person. This year, however, I started 2017 with a new approach. Not simply because it was "new year's" or any of that bull. I just felt like I needed a change. So I did. I changed. And then I changed back. 2016 was awful. I don't even need to elaborate on that. You know. But no other year has been that great either and I thought that might have something to do with my outlook on life. I'm not a pessimist. I'm just a realist. But I thought I would try to make the best out of everything and basically change myself. But it's almost May and, ladies and gents, I'm so done. I'm done with trying to make everything seem great and happy and interesting. And here's why: I FELT STUPID. I felt stupid trying to make something seem positive when it clearly wasn't. I felt stupid trying to act like I was happy with something that I didn't agree with. I felt stupid trying to pretend everything was great. Because basically it was a lie. I felt like I was lying. To myself. To everyone around me. This wasn't me. If something is shit, I'm not going to pretend it's brilliant.

ROSS WAS NOT FINE AND NEITHER WAS I

Now I'm not saying I would tear down something for no reason. I'm not going to heckle at a show or anything. But if uni is going badly or my phone just broke (again) I'm not going to smile through it. I'm going to be pissed. I'm going to complain. That's me. So yeah, it's great to have a good outlook on life, and if you're a positive person then you carry on doing you. But for me, I felt uncomfortable lying to myself because I think my bluntness is part of my innate personality. And dare I say, part of my bitter-sweet charm? Anyway, back in January I decided to do a "Treat Yo Self 2017" as part of my journey into positivity, which you can read about here: Treat Yo Self 2017 I'm still going to try to keep it up until 2018 but I just wanted to express that things aren't always sunshine and rainbows and you don't have to pretend they are. Also, it might explain why my last post "Spa Days Ruin Lives" didn't quite fit the theme of "Treat Yo Self 2017" joy. That's all for now Cheers

Just follow me already. This is getting embarrassing

  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon

I LOVE TALKING TO NEW PEOPLE AND HAVING A NATTER. WHO KNOWS? WE MIGHT EVEN BECOME BESTIES.

SEND ME A MESSAGE

 

COMPLIMENTS ONLY

That better have been a compliment.. ¬_¬

bottom of page